Sunday, January 22, 2012

Review: MWF seeking BFF: My Year Long Search for a new Best Friend by Rachel Bertsche

Publisher: Ballantine (Random House)
Format: Review Copy
Purchase: Indie Bound

Challenge: Memorable Memoir Challenge

Boy, this book could not have been written for anyone more perfect than me. What a lovely memoir that hit so close to home. Thank you so much to Tom @ Random House for sending this. It was a delight to read.

I'll break it down simply for you all. Rachel, the author, is new to the city of Chicago. She is newly married and really quite happy except for one small little realization. She doesn't have any real friends. Where are her besties? Where are the gals she can call at a moments notice to go to lunch? Nowhere, that's where. She has plenty of acquaintances but no one like her two closest childhood friends. Unfortunately they live in other states and she misses having that close connection to someone in the same city.

So begins her search for her new BFF.

Her goal: 52 friend dates. One date per week for one year.

She takes on many different challenges to finding these friends from putting out an ad to taking an improv class. Along the way, she meets some amazing women who she readily admits to having girl crushes on. She also meets a handful of bitches and gals that she just doesn't click with.

I found her humor to be so refreshing and fun to read. I really think if I went on a friend date with her that we could be friends. Of course, I wonder how many gals said that upon reading her book or blog! With her love for sushi, trash magazines and her knowledge of the old TV show Sisters, I could tell she was potential BFF material. (I mean, NO ONE knows about the show Sisters. I thought I was the only one!)

Anyhoo, her sincere, sweet, sometimes insane quest to find a new BFF was really a joy to read. I do have to admit that it was a bit exhausting at times to read through how busy she truly made herself. With the constant dinners and follow up get togethers, to classes, coffee, you name it, the girl was busy and going broke! But with a supportive new husband and a drive to find her match, she plugged through.

As a married woman now with a child who has very close friends living out of state, I related to this wholeheartedly. Sure, I know a ton of people and have some wonderful folks in my life nearby but I too, struggle for BFF's that are near to me. It was really interesting to see how she broke friendships down and it made me look at those in my life a little bit closer. It's really common to be in your late 20s, early 30s and have trouble finding new friends. This book gave me some ideas and hope that finding some good ol' friendship companionship is a need that so many have and it's okay!

Rating: Recommend
I didn't find much I didn't like about this book. It was sweet, fun and intriguing to read her adventures in the land of Friend Dates. Even though there were a few times that I was exhausted at her search, her intent and desire for friendship pulled me through. I didn't feel like she was fake about it at all just to sell a book. Her humor was sincere and refreshing. I would recommend this book for fans of Jen Lancaster's books or Laurie Notaro. Fun, fresh, witty writing.

Happy reading and as always, thanks for stopping by!

red headed book child



9 comments:

Juju at Tales of Whimsy.com said...

I need this book. I recently moved (this summer) and have no friends here. We're blessed to have family an hour away (who we visit all the time) but I need friends. I'm still trying to figure out how to make them. It's tough when you get older. You feel weird saying, "Hey so wanna hang out?"

So did you give you any ideas?

Jenny said...

I was afraid this book might be funny but that it would get old after a while. I could definitely relate to the topic though. I may have to reconsider this one!

Marce said...

This sounds like such an interesting read. One of the things I picked up immediately is that she was willing to take the time to make it happen, many are to shy or etc to give it a real go.

Sounds like a fun read for sure.

christa @ mental foodie said...

I've been hearing good things about this book lately. Having moved here 7.5 years ago, I can identify. Though being an introvert, 52 coffee dates sound a bit exhausting lol :)

Staci said...

I didn't realize that this was a memoir...I enjoyed the way you wrote about this one and I may consider picking it up if I run across it at the library!

Stacy at A Novel Source said...

love this review and i too need this book! it's really hard finding a bff when you're 39 and a busy mom and gf...i did not realize the author has a blog so i'm off to check it out and see if i can glean some ideas and inspiration in seeking a bff!

GMR said...

I had just read about this one the other day...funny coincidence I find it on my travels here. ^_^ Sounds like it was a great read and perhaps somewhat relective of a lot of people's experiences in moving far from the known. Great job on the review Michelle!

carol said...

That's it. I have to just break down and buy this one. I know I can relate. I have some good male friends, but they seem to much prefer being bachelors to having actual girlfriends, which ruins my plan of just becoming friends with their girlfriends/wives.

Ryan said...

I keep finding excuses to not read this one. Not sure what that means, but maybe one day.